About us:

In 1975, four historic colleges came together to form the Roehampton Institute of Higher Education (RIHE). From 1975 to 1984, the Institute's degrees were validated by the University of London. In 1984, RIHE became a constituent college of the University of Surrey. In 2000, RIHE became an equal partner in the Federal University of Surrey (along with the original University of Surrey in Guildford), and became known as the University of Surrey Roehampton. In late-2002, the University of Surrey Roehampton announced that it would submit an application for independent university status to the Department for Education and Skills. The application was submitted on 18 March 2004. The name chosen was "Roehampton University". The application was considered by the Privy Council, and on 23 June 2004 it was announced that independent university status was to be granted. On 1 August 2004, the University of Surrey Roehampton became Roehampton University. The Federal University of Surrey was therefore dissolved on this date.John Simpson became the first Chancellor of Roehampton University in 2005.

Courses offered:

  • MA/PGDip Audiovisual Translation
  • MPhil, PhD Translation Studies